Failure Is NOT The End.

Last evening, I met with an acquaintance to discuss his career path and to hopefully glean from him any advice that he could muster up for me. As the Social Media Marketing Manager for the non-profit, Feed My Starving Children, I was really excited to meet up with him and to hear how in the world he managed to get this amazing opportunity. Needless to say, I was jealous.

But healthy jealousy is a good thing because it can help you to grow and I feel like I took major steps in setting up this meeting. I learned some important things that I needed to hear from a real world perspective such as how you need to start out working at the bottom of the totem pole to gain the experience you need to then be able to work yourself towards the top. I also learned the value of volunteering and submitting articles and work without even being asked.

The most important thing I learned last night goes against all of my academic knowledge. He explained how the idea of “failure” is looked down upon in so many circumstances, when really it’s a tool to be used for growth. We are taught all throw school that failure is a bad thing, it is negative, the end. In a job search, the concept of failure should really be viewed in a more positive light, teaching us more about what we should be doing.

Hopefully with this added knowledge, a career won’t be too far down the path.

Overall, I would not hesitate to consider this a night well spent. I acquired some great new tips to employ in my job search and I made a new friend.

I feel like I’m closer to finding where God wants me to be each day.

About hannahjustine

This is my life story. Don't expect for me to entirely spill the beans on everything, but my life is certainly a sloppy recipe of writing, research, realizations and love. Basically, I'm learning as I go. I strive to positively impact my community, my sphere of influence. I believe that this happens only through living your life to the fullest! View all posts by hannahjustine

Leave a Reply

