The Work Of Writing

I have so many swimming thoughts and it has resulted in nothing but paralysis for the past year.  I try to write out exactly what I’m thinking at the moment, but then the moment is gone and I am virtually forever altered and I start writing something completely different, abruptly cutting away from what I had been originally set out to write.  With moving into a new apartment, into a new town, I grossly expect to be reunited with my ambitions and motivation.  And I must admit, it feels damn good to be on the verge of productivity!

I’ve been very proactive today in job searching and contacting employers from a few of the positions I have interviewed for.  I’ve also been spinning around ideas for my next writing project.  People are so mistaken when it comes to the writer’s mind and work process.

Half of the writing process is struggling through your own mind to figure out just what it is you want to permanently lay out on paper.  Writing is an extremely respectable vocation because writers are ALWAYS working!  Even when they are not putting pen to paper or I suppose, to be generationally relevant it would be mind to keyboard- but aside from that small detail, I want to make known that half of writing is experiencing life and the other half is thinking it through, making sense of what your mind is telling you.  That is why it irks me so much when people do not think I’m working on something because I’m not particularly writing anything down.  But I am, believe me.

 

I am channeling my desire, my love from what I cannot have to my writing.  The trick to not turning your work into some sappy, bad, broken-hearted poetry is to not entirely channel the subject in specifics but to more closely channel the aggression, the energy.  Wish me luck.

About hannahjustine

This is my life story. Don't expect for me to entirely spill the beans on everything, but my life is certainly a sloppy recipe of writing, research, realizations and love. Basically, I'm learning as I go. I strive to positively impact my community, my sphere of influence. I believe that this happens only through living your life to the fullest! View all posts by hannahjustine

Leave a Reply

