My Driving Impetus-

As I twist my mind around the idea of creativity, I can’t help but to give imitation the credit.  This astounds me!  Partly because creativity is one of the qualities I hold closest to the sun.

Most people do not understand my mind.  Correction:  No one fully comprehends my mind.  The best I can hope for    is patient tolerance.  As I’m skimming through the pages of F. Scott Fitzgerald’s foreword of The Great Gatsby, I am alarmed at his writing techniques.  He goes against every rule pounded into our heads in English, even upper-level English classes such as that applied to my English- Creative Writing degree.

Needless to say, I’m seething.  My writing has been toiled and toyed with to abolish my talent.  I very much  enjoyed learning writing skills, don’t get me wrong.   I just recognize after graduation that I must rekindle the passion, my personal voice, into my writing.  One must thoroughly learn the basics of the art they wish to practice before they choose not to obey them.

The English language contains a necessary evil of knowledge.  Revision is another terrible truth.  But, slowly I’m warming up to the stern jaws of revision.  His clammy hands so quickly deceived me into believing his embrace wasn’t worthwhile.  I have been mistaken.

Without knowledge and revision, anyone can write, but they’re writing only qualifies for rats.

Now that I am graduated, I have no looming requirements to meet.
My writing is my own- how glorious!  This calls for celebration!
I must hurl caution into the wind and let my creativity fully unfurl!

About hannahjustine

This is my life story. Don't expect for me to entirely spill the beans on everything, but my life is certainly a sloppy recipe of writing, research, realizations and love. Basically, I'm learning as I go. I strive to positively impact my community, my sphere of influence. I believe that this happens only through living your life to the fullest! View all posts by hannahjustine

One response to “My Driving Impetus-

  • Jess Mansour Scherman

    Now you’ll walk into a whole different world of challenges…immediately after graduating, you feel a freedom, but as the time passes, it’s hard to truly locate that passion to write when you’re not necessarily doing it for anything.

    My advice? Grab some close writing friends and start a writers’ group. That’s what I did, and it has been so helpful. Because to be honest, it’s hard as hell to revise your own work. It’s that input from other writers who bear starkly different aesthetics that can really help it progress.

    The way I look at it, if I write without any sort of collaboration with other writers and artists, then I’m only writing different versions of the same thing over and over. It’s that outside vision that helps it develop. That’s why artists, more than anyone, thrive in community.

Leave a Reply

